Thrifty Throwback Thursday~ Vintage Buttons -n- Books

It’s Thursday Makers! And I need some help. I’m a grateful recipient of  vintage button stash. A fellow crafter honoured me with this treasure tin full of her grandmothers vintage buttons and baubs . Thank you so much Donna K.

What a thrill it was for me to open this tin and see all these small flour sacks full of these beautiful treasures. I’m also delighted to find the ‘Gold Medal’ sacks and the parish support tiny paper change envelope ( I think that’s what it is). ❤ I feel like a child in a candy shop. 😉

Now I need your help fellow crafters and vintage fashion enthusiasts. What are the best ways to organise, preserve and use these beauties? Would you use them as embellishments or buttons on a piece of clothing or fashion accessory? My mind is swirling with questions. I’d be grateful for your input or experiences with like items.

Tardy tidbit:

Yesterday was #readabookday and this is a couple of books I spied at Anette’s booth at the Sunday market . She always has the most unique books and lots on DIY.  I thought of you Mrs. Walker aka Johanna P.

Happy Thursday Makers~Cheers

P.S. Please keep those affected by the hurricanes and other perils in your prayers and meditations.

About Chic Mona

Upcycle Diva! Creating affordable handmade fashion accessories, delicious décor and unique gifts in the USA .
This entry was posted in Notes, Sewing Creations, Upcycled Ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thrifty Throwback Thursday~ Vintage Buttons -n- Books

  1. I own that book…I love little garden gnomes. I also have a giant jar of vintage buttons I received from my Italian mother-in-law, she had been collecting them for years. Over the there have been many more added to that jar…I am going to have to find a bigger jar soon.

  2. sewtonya says:

    I just love the flour sack! I don’t know what I would do with it 🤔 but it’s amazing. The buttons are great too

  3. Oh my, such a treasure in that lovely, gorgeous tin!! One cannot help but love buttons! And how sweet to see one of my youth’s favorites translated in English on your blog! Actually, I still have my book that I received from my mother when I was about 8 years old…I remember it so well. We ordered it by mail order, and we had never done that before. But for some reason , the book was at first only available that way and my mother was such a book lover that she immediately agreed that this was must have book for me!!! How exciting to wait for a parcel!! I was so careful with my beautiful book, that it still looks ‘unharmed’ despite me,reading it over and over again! Thank you for evoking these wonderful memories! Xoxoxo Johanna

  4. nanacathy2 says:

    Oh I love your buttons. I use the ones i got from my Granny and Mum. I also like the flour sack, I found one in my Mum’s bureau , with plastic counters in it. What to do with that? Love the gnomes too.

    • Chic Mona says:

      Sweet, thank you. Her Grandmother must have been an amazing seamstress. You had flour sacks too? Wonderful! I don’t know what I’ll do with it. Perhaps a apron pocket or frame it?

Share Your Thoughts

