That #FridayFeeling – Upcycled Linen Frock Finished

This sewist knows that #fridayfeeling ,when I get a upcycled frock finished! (see previous post here) It took me  longer than I wanted tho. Of coarse that’s due to my trying to sew in a hurry and when I’m too tired. But it all came together nicely I think. Comfy fit and big pockets. I’ll be wearing this around the house for this 4th of July weekend. And our next trip to warm shores.

I used my ‘design as I go’ method. 😉 Which just means sometimes I change my mind while cutting out the pieces. Ever have that happen on a sewing or craft project? I changed the bottom and sides. I was going to just leave the red linen hem as is, but thought I’d break it up by inserting a floral strip there and to give me more length. I had enough fabric so why not. (Did a bit of fussy cut to get the two humming birds)

I added the big pockets in seam at the added side strip instead of at the side seam. Looks better and pocket placement is perfect for my arm length. Then I just attached the self drafted bodice to the skirt with simple gathers and sewed the shoulder seams.

I took some fabric leftover from those aprons I made to make the lining. I like using the burrito roll method (pics above) when I sew a lining into a sleeveless frock . It makes for a easy way to sew facings too and leaves a neat finish. I top stitch the neck and the arm holes afterwards too. If you’ve never sewn this method before, go slow, it can be a bit tricky. But after you do it once you’ll get the hang of it and use it often. Watch this video by Christie, it’s a good demo. Do you have a fave method for sewing a lining into a frock?

After sewing up the side seams of both the lining and the main that’s it! Voila’! And it looks good from the rear too. 😉

Happy FriYay,Cheers!

 

 


Disclaimer: No stipend or favor was received for this post or from any links mentioned above.

 

 

 

About Chic Mona

Upcycle Diva! Creating affordable handmade fashion accessories, delicious décor and unique gifts in the USA .
This entry was posted in Sewing Creations, Upcycled Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That #FridayFeeling – Upcycled Linen Frock Finished

  1. Very cute. It is a perfect dress for comfort and I love the floral fabric you used as an accent.

    • Chic Mona says:

      How sweet, Thanks Peggy. I’ve been keeping this floral fabric for a while. Just had to be the right time to cut and use. So thrilled I came across the red linen dress thrifting so I could use to upcycle.~cheers

Share Your Thoughts

