Sewing Binding Tips

Sometimes sewing binding can be a challenge for me. Whether it’s bias or not. How about you? I don’t have any challenge making it, it’s in the attaching it where I run into inevitably having to reach for mr. ripper. (no,I don’t own a ‘binding foot’ either)

Recently I bound the edges of one of my ‘all day canning’ aprons in one go, using a couple of simple tools that I’d otherwise wouldn’t use for binding.

I’ve been using the following method below and it has made a world of difference. Remember ,I mentioned in another post about upcycling empty thread spools to store my handmade binding. Then I used my Dritz cone tread holder, I place the spool of binding on it to easily and smoothly draw from as I sew both sides at the same time. I don’t have to use the traditional sew at the crease from ws then fold and stitch on rs’. But I do use that technique on some of my smaller single fold binding projects. I find I can sew more this way at one go than I would otherwise and it keeps me from stopping and staring to ‘fiddle’ with getting the binding into place and make sure I caught both sides. My stitch line is nearly the same on front as in back. Hurrah! I’m so impatient too,so this works well for me.

 

~ Here’s an easy way to cut squares of fabric for bias binding too~

I keep this cheat sheet chart from quilting-tidbits.com by my cutting table to make the math easy. Save and print copy if you like:

 

Do you have any easy binding tips? Please share.

Cheers!

Disclaimer: No stipend or favor was received for this post or from any links mentioned above.

About Chic Mona

Upcycle Diva! Creating affordable handmade fashion accessories, delicious décor and unique gifts in the USA .
This entry was posted in Sewing Creations, Upcycled Ideas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

