Vintage Fabric~ Part 3~ Upcycle SleeveLess Duster

The vintage fabric sleeveless duster has been completed! It’s been a while in the making, re-read here and here. Sew many other projects were ahead of the dear duster. Market season came to a close last week. So I made sure this was my priority for today.

I was inspired by all your input and suggestions dear readers and from a vintage pattern 1284 by Simplicity. Thank you so much everyone for fostering my newest sewing creation. And especially to D. for sharing this fabric with me. I love to wear layers and this will be a great addition to my wardrobe. I’m thrilled to be able to wear this now.

Just in time for fall.

chic-mona-cotton_duster

I found a large black sheer scarf at thrift store to upcycle as front trim and collar. It was cut into strips on the bias and folded. I sandwiched it between the binding I used for front and neck hem. I also used binding for armscye trim. (I do dislike hemming)

cotton-duster-seam-bind-collar-trim

It was so much easier to use lace hem tape and I like the finished look it gives too. The side and shoulder seams were done in french seams for that reason too. I did do a double hem for the side slits tho.

cotton-duster-hem

Next time I’d make the slits longer, probably up to my knees. They’re about mid-calf now.

cotton-duster-side-slit

For the front pockets I did a fussy cut as well as I could given the design of this fabric. I didn’t want to make too much of them tho. It would take away from the detail in the over all look I thought. No distractions. But I knew I must have pockets on it. I sewed them on at a slight slant too. I like some things tilted and off the beam. A bit like me. ;D

cotton-duster-pocket

The back has two darts just off the side. I found it fits my portly portion best.  Just enough so I kept the swirl in the design take center. Focal of the fabric I think.

cotton-duster-back

So there is the finished duster. I have so many choices with this too. Black,brown,gray,tan slacks and tops. Or even with skirt or dress. What do you think?

Cheers!


Disclaimer: No stipend or favor was received for this post or from any links mentioned above.

About Chic Mona

Upcycle Diva! Creating affordable handmade fashion accessories, delicious décor and unique gifts in the USA .
This entry was posted in Sewing Creations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vintage Fabric~ Part 3~ Upcycle SleeveLess Duster

  1. Denice says:

    Looks nice. Good job. Now WEAR the dang thing 🙂 ❤

Share Your Thoughts

