Oma’s Saffron Buns and Sewing Dirndl Aprons

Retro 1955 Recipe Booklet

Retro 1955 Recipe Booklet

I get my creative inspiration from so many sources. Sewing and cooking . This retro recipe book enhanced my love of saffron buns ,vintage textiles and dirndl aprons.

Oma used milk not water.

Oma used milk not water.

I’ve given this saffron bun recipe a start. Tho only using  1/3 if the recipe.  Last month for a show I made several dirndl inspired holiday aprons.

Dirndl inspired aprons.

Dirndl inspired holiday aprons.

The pale butter vintage check (above left) is the only one I’ve  leftover now, and my favourite. The textiles for these aprons and overskirt are upcycled linen/cotton respectively. It is such a joy designing and sewing these for my clients to wear and enjoy and perhaps pass down for family.

I added black walnuts to the topping. Delish!

I added black walnuts to the topping. Delish!

Oh how these little things draw a big sigh of melancholy remembering holidays of yore with Oma.

Do you have a special childhood holiday memory?

Cheers

About Chic Mona

Upcycle Diva! Creating affordable handmade fashion accessories, delicious décor and unique gifts in the USA .
This entry was posted in Notes, Sewing Creations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oma’s Saffron Buns and Sewing Dirndl Aprons

  1. Lemonpath says:

    Love the aprons. My fondest memory of Christmas was my Grandma baking a snow-man Xmas cake.

  2. Oma? Do you have a Dutch grandma? I have always loved everything Christmas and I still do! But extra special was going to the Circus around christmas. The little buns looks perfect! xo Johanna

Share Your Thoughts

