Made in USA Textiles: Upcycle Project Part 2

It’s finally finished! The black and white print blouse has been deconstructed and refashioned into a versatile smock with pockets. I love it! Recall my previous post about this wonderful nostalgic look print- Read it here.

BW Upcycle Print Smock

 

The only dilemma I encountered was what to do with the armholes and neckline after removing the sleeves and collar. The fabric weight was light enough to try a scalloped edge and I’m glad I did. It turned out better than expected.  Using Thread Magazine’s post “3 Neat Edge Finishes” as inspiration helped give my upcycle project a cute detail. I also found a new use for the satin stitch on my machine!

Here is a closer look at the scallop edge. I used two different colors to get the black and white affect.

scalloped hem trim edge

Tip- Use a wash-away stabilizer and then apply fray check .

Using another upcycled smock I did a few months ago that was a good fit as my template made this task even easier . The only element I’d do different next time is lowering the gather just a bit. I left the buttons on this one and used the leftover sleeves to make the pockets. I trimmed the pockets with some ribbon and sewed them on at a slant.

This is my new favourite top to wear out-n-about even in cooler fall weather. Looks fab layered with either a black or white turtleneck. So next time you see a blouse you love that’s too big for you, don’t pass it by. Upcycle it!

Cheers,Mona


Disclaimer: No stipend or favor was received for this post or from any links mentioned above.

About Chic Mona

Upcycle Diva! Creating affordable handmade fashion accessories, delicious décor and unique gifts in the USA .
This entry was posted in Sewing Creations, Upcycled Ideas and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Made in USA Textiles: Upcycle Project Part 2

  1. BluKatDesign says:

    Much improvement! Love it 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

